Orthodox Christian Youth Movement
Sharjah Unit

Orthodox Christian Youth Movement - a historical perspective

The Orthodox Christian Youth Movement was formed in 1936 at Mavelikara under the patronage of H.H. Mar Basaliose Geevarghese II. Mr.Daniel Clery (late H.G. Daniel Mar Pheloxenos Metropolita ) was appointed as the first General Secretary in 1937. In 1954, Mr.T.C. Oommen was appointed as the full time General Secretary. During this period the Annual programe called “Youth Week” was started. In 1957 the first Annual Conference was held at Balikamatom Thiruvalla. The Annual Conference held at Puthuppally in 1958 was a Milestone in the history of the movement. The decisions to rename ‘uvajanasamajam’ as ‘uvajanaprasthanam’ and to start the publication of “Orthodox Youth” were taken at this meeting. The constitution of the movement was approved in the year 1962, and a “Cover collection” for raising fund was started along with ‘Youth week’ during the same year. In May 31, 1986, the ‘Youth Movement celebrated its Golden Jubilee. Diomond Jubulee celebrations were held at Pathanapuram in 1995. In 1999 a grand meeting called “Uvajana Sangamam” was held under the auspices of the Youth Movement at Kottayam.

Orthodox Christian Youth Movement Sharjah Unit has been actively involved in various spiritual,cultural and social activities of the church since its inception in the year 1978.

Regular meetings are held on first and third Fridays of every month. Devotional addresses, group discussions, Bible studies, quiz competition, song practices etc. are the main activities of the regular meetings. Special seminars, Symposiums, Debates, Study classes and Conferences are frequently arranged by inviting eminent personalities and resource persons.


President/Vicar Rev. Fr. Aji Chacko
Co-vicar Rev. Fr. John K.Jacob
Vice President Mr. Vinu Thankachan
Treasurer Mr. Manu Thankachan
Jt. Treasurer Mr. Jobin Varghese
Secretary Mr. Prasad P. Varghese
Jt. Secretary Mr. Tijo Thankachan
Com. Members Mr. Eapen Varghese
  Mr. Lijo Thankachan
  Mr. Linu Varghese
  Mr. Binu varghese
Librarian Mr. Monu John Philip
Auditor Mr. Noble P.Rajan
Ex-officio Mr. Siby George


Parumala Thirumeni
Memorable Speech
Quotes & Qualities
Miracle Events
Our Church
Church History
Malankara Sabha
Church Dioceses
Our Parish
Managing Committe
Charity Committe
Parish Directory
Our Diocese
Glorious Gregorios
Sunday School
Members Zone
Silver Jubilee
Catholicate Centenary
HG Job Mar Phelexenos
Memorial Education Award
Prayer Request
Photo Gallery
Devotional Songs
Church Links
X'tain Communities
Othodox Churches
About UAE
About Sharjah
About Kerala
Contact Us
Contact Address
Location Map
Location Map

© 2017 GulfParumala.com - GulfParumala.net All rights reserved. St. Gregorios Orthodox Church, Sharjah, UAE.